Facebook Twitter menu
de  |  en

MANAGEMENT

Foto: Ian Ehm

Dr. Helga Schwarzwald
office@freier-rundfunk.at

Helga Schwarzwald studied law in Salzburg. In her dissertation on pornography and criminal law she centred on a specific branch of media. She began her professional career as a co-director of the Women’s Counselling Service in Salzburg and as a feminist-informed legal advisor. She encountered practices of art and cultural initiatives on a detour via Amsterdam, before settling in Vienna in 2002.

Helga Schwarzwald has been active in shaping the development of community media since 2003. She was managing director of Radio Orange 94.0 in Vienna between 2004 to 2011, during which time she played a leading role in the conception and realisation of numerous international media, art and educational projects. As a former board member of the Association of Austrian Community Broadcasters and IG Kultur Österreich, Helga Schwarzwald has enthusiastically brought her extensive experience in advocacy to the service of Community Media and the right to freedom of expression and information as Managing Director of the Austrian Association of Community Broadcasters since 2014.

Since 2008 she has also deepened her engagement with contemporary art, as an artist and as a curator.

Foto: Roman Hammer

MANAGEMENT ASSISTANT

Mag.a Vera Wolf, BA
assistenz@freier-rundfunk.at

Vera Wolf studied law and political sciences in Innsbruck and Paris. During her studies, she volunteers as legal advisor at an Austrian Refugee Agency. Moreover, she gives workshops for students in political education as well as on the topics flight, migration and integration. After her studies, she works in the context of international organisations, including as an advisor for humanitarian affairs and sustainable development at the Permanent Mission of Austria to the UN in New York. At the organisation for Victim Support, she takes over the respective agendas as a legal expert and deals in particular with the Austrian Anti-Hate Speech Law. Since April 2021, she supports managing director Helga Schwarzwald in the advocacy work for Austrian Community Media.

Facebook Twitter menu
de  |  en

GESCHÄFTSFÜHRUNG

Foto: Ian Ehm

Dr. Helga Schwarzwald
office@freier-rundfunk.at

Helga Schwarzwald studierte Rechtswissenschaften in Salzburg. Nach ihrer Gerichtspraxis folgen engagierte Jahre als Betreiberin und Beraterin der unabhängigen Frauenberatung Salzburg. Mit Umweg über Amsterdam kommt Helga Schwarzwald 2002 nach Wien.

Seit 2003 gestaltet sie die Entwicklung von Community Medien sowohl in Österreich als auch international mit. Von 2004 - 2011 ist sie Geschäftsführerin von Radio Orange 94.0 in Wien, wo sie gemeinsam mit vielen Partner_innen zahlreiche internationale Medien-, Kunst- und Bildungsprojekte realisiert. Aufgrund der langjährige Arbeit im Vorstand des Verbands Freier Radios Österreich oder der IG Kultur Österreich bringt Helga Schwarzwald viel Erfahrung in der Interessenvertretung mit. 2014 übernimmt sie die Leitung der österreichweiten Interessensvertretung des Freien Rundfunks und engagiert sich in vielen Kontexten für Meinungs- und Informationsfreiheit.

Ab 2008 intensiviert sie außerdem ihre Auseinandersetzung mit zeitgenössischer Kunst als Künstlerin und Kuratorin.

Foto: Roman Hammer

ASSISTENZ DER GESCHÄFTSFÜHRUNG

Mag.a Vera Wolf, BA
assistenz@freier-rundfunk.at

Vera Wolf studierte Rechtswissenschaften und Politikwissenschaft in Innsbruck und Paris. Während ihres Studiums engagiert sie sich als Rechtsberaterin bei der Unabhängigen Rechtsberatung des Diakonie Flüchtlingsdiensts. Sie leitet überdies Workshops für Schüler_innen in politischer Bildung sowie zu den Themen Flucht und Migration. Nach Abschluss ihrer beiden Studien ist sie im In- und Ausland im Kontext internationaler Organisationen tätig, so etwa als Referentin für humanitäre Angelegenheiten und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit bei der Ständigen Vertretung Österreichs bei den Vereinten Nationen in New York. Zuletzt arbeitet Vera Wolf an der Begutachtung und dann an der operativen Umsetzung des „Hass-im-Netz“-Paketes im Rahmen der Verbrechensopferhilfe. Seit April 2021 unterstützt sie Geschäftsführerin Helga Schwarzwald als Assistentin.